hero who?

In my dreams I am your hero. 

And we are walkiImageng down a dark alley, after an opera concert, my hand blanketing your fingers. 

In my dreams there is a man, he has a gun, and he is looking to take your life. 

I’d like to say I would take the bullet for you. I’d like to say that a lot.

In my dreams your are cradling me in your arms, blood on your pretty dress, my body going lifeless.

In your dreams I am your hero.

 

I wake up, late night sleep plastered on my lips.

The house is dark as I stumble into the kitchen for a drink of water.

The dishwasher blinks clean.

I could empty it for you, make your life a little easier. 

I just go back to bed, pretend I never saw it.

You empty it in the morning.

 

Yes, only in my dreams I am your hero. 

Leave a Reply

